Log in to MyChart

Hall of Honor

2014 Medical Hall of Honor Inductees Announced

MetroHealth is pleased to announce that eight individuals have been selected as 2014 inductees to the MetroHealth Medical Hall of Honor. The honorees are among the second class of inductees to the Hall of Honor, which was established in 2011 to mark MetroHealth’s 175th anniversary. The Hall of Honor pays tribute to individuals whose innovation, academic excellence and leadership have transformed MetroHealth and the practice of medicine. MetroHealth alumni, faculty and former faculty submitted 58 letters of nomination. The nominees were evaluated by a rigorous rating system and scored accordingly. A distinguished panel of 42 MetroHealth physicians and volunteer leaders facilitated the process with a prescribed set of criteria. Qualifications include excellence in leadership, patient care, medical education and research.

The 2014 inductees are:

Dr. Kenneth W. Clement
Dr. Leroy J. Dierker
Dr. Carl A. Hamann
Dr. Muhammad Asim Khan
Dr. Mary Lou Kumar
Dr. Ulysses G. Mason Jr.
Emma K. Plank
Dr. David S. Rosenbaum

Their contributions spanned more than 100 years and reflect MetroHealth’s long history of excellence. MetroHealth has or will establish endowments to serve as lasting tributes to the honorees’ work. The honorees will be recognized during an induction ceremony on Friday, October 17, 2014, at the Global Center for Health Innovation, 1 St. Clair Avenue NE, in downtown Cleveland. To read more about the 2014 Medical Hall of Honor inductees, click here.

Nominate a MetroHealth Leader to the MetroHealth Medical Hall of Honor,
The hospital system’s highest tribute 

Plaque wallThroughout MetroHealth’s 177-year history, thousands of its physicians and administrators have demonstrated compassion, creativity and a passion for teaching -- contributions which have led to new discoveries, monumental advancements in medical science and renewed life for their patients. A few of those leaders stand out from the rest. Their commitment is extraordinary; their work illuminating; their patients so much better for having known them.These are the leaders MetroHealth pays tribute to in its Hall of Honor. It’s one small way the hospital system has of saying “Thank you” to the best of the best. This year, once again, MetroHealth invites nominations from employees, alumni, patients and the community for Hall of Honor members, who will be inducted this fall at Cleveland’s new Global Center for Health Innovation. Nominees must be doctors or hospital executives -- past or present -- whose innovation, academic excellence and leadership transformed MetroHealth and the practice or management of medicine. If someone at MetroHealth changed your life, please consider nominating him or her. Remember, you can submit as many nominations as you like, as long as you meet the April 18, 2014 deadline. Thank you for helping us recognize those deserving of a place in MetroHealth’s Hall of Honor. Find nominating criteria and instructions here. 

History of the Hall of Honor

The MetroHealth Medical Hall of Honor was established to mark MetroHealth’s 175th anniversary – a remarkable milestone enriched by innovation, academic excellence and leadership.  Over 140 letters of nomination were received from alumni, faculty and former faculty.  A panel of 25 MetroHealth physicians and volunteer leaders evaluated the nominations using a prescribed set of criteria and a rigorous rating system.  The honorees demonstrated superior evidence of innovation in medical education, research, patient care and/or health care management.  They were officially inducted at The Champions Ball on October 15, 2011. The unveiling of the Hall of Honor, on May 16, 2013, was attended by several of the inductees, their families and friends.  You can find the Hall of Honor in the Rammelkamp Atrium, where its engraved plaques provide testament to the visionary work of these MetroHealth luminaries.


Want to show your support?  Donate now in honor of a Hall of Honor inductee.
The Inaugural MetroHealth Medical Hall of Honor
Twenty inductees were chosen to be part of inaugural MetroHealth Medical Hall of Honor.  Click the links below to learn more about our outstanding inaugural class. Scroll down to view the video of our 2011 inductees.
© Copyright 2002 - The MetroHealth System|2500 MetroHealth Drive|Cleveland, OH 44109|(216) 778-7800|All Rights Reserved.
  • © Copyright 2002 - The MetroHealth System
  • 2500 MetroHealth Drive|Cleveland, OH 44109|(216) 778-7800
  • All Rights Reserved.